Transformation of reporting from Excel to Power BI to optimize performance, work process, data quality and usability

The challenge with the data sizes

The Demand Planning Team at Mars is responsible for making predictions on future needs. The planning is updated in the form of Excel reports both daily and every four weeks and is provided to other departments such as Sales, Finance or Marketing. However, the reports have now reached a data size that not only affects the speed of loading and interaction, but also makes providing via e-mail impossible. In addition, the distribution of information via e-mail leads to invalid data storage on computers of individual users.

The solution for optimized work processes

As part of Mars’ Digital Workplace Agenda, we’re supporting the Demand Planning Team to make their reporting more agile and effective with the Business Intelligence solution from Microsoft Power BI. With the aim of simplifying the process of creating, updating and providing data while at the same time providing deeper insight, the first reports were transferred to Power BI. In contrast to Excel, Power BI is a tool that quickly connects various files and makes it easy to customize the visualization of data with little effort.

Power BI provides users with the ability to view all reports centrally in a web client, load them faster and get contextual information through visual interaction between graphs and spreadsheets. Because Power BI is also available as an app, sales representatives or management employees now have the latest reports available on their smartphones or tablets.

The communication about change

In addition to the active support during the preparation and redesign of the reports, we have, together with the project team, developed a communication strategy for the introduction of these. The strategy’s aim was to involve the users of the reports early in the change process to receive feedback and to prepare them for the new way of working. The playful and informative introduction to Power BI was made possible by a prize competition, live trainings and regular articles about functions within the corporate network Yammer.

Transformation des Reportings von Excel zu Power BI zur Optimierung der Performance, des Arbeitsprozesses, der Dataquality und der Usability

Die Challenge mit den Datengrößen

Das Demand Planning Team ist bei Mars dafür zuständig, Vorhersagen zu zukünftigen Bedarfen zu treffen. Die Planung wird in Form von Excel-Reports sowohl täglich als auch vierwöchentlich aktualisiert und den anderen Departments wie Sales, Finance oder Marketing zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Reports haben mittlerweile jedoch eine Datengröße erreicht, die sich nicht nur auf die Lade- und Interaktionsgeschwindigkeit auswirkt, sondern auch das Bereitstellen via E-Mail unmöglich macht. Hinzu kommt, dass das Verteilen von Informationen via Email zu invalider Datenhaltung auf den PCs einzelner Nutzer führt.

Die Lösung für optimierte Arbeitsprozesse

Als Teil der Digital Workplace Agenda von Mars unterstützen wir das Team Demand Planning daher, ihr Reporting mit der Business Intelligence Lösung von Microsoft Power BI agiler und effektiver zu gestalten. Mit dem Ziel, den Arbeitsprozess der Erstellung, Aktualisierung und Bereitstellung von Daten zu vereinfachen und gleichzeitig einen tieferen Einblick zu ermöglichen, wurden die ersten Reports in Power BI überführt. Denn im Gegensatz zu Excel wird mit Power BI ein Tool verwendet, welches verschiedene Dateien schnell miteinander verbindet und durch einfaches Drag&Drop Visualisierungen von Daten mit wenig Aufwand anpassen lässt.

Power BI bietet für die Nutzer die Möglichkeit, alle Reports zentral in einem Web-Klienten zu sehen, sie schneller zu laden und durch visuelle Interaktion zwischen Graphen und Tabellen Informationen im Kontext zu erhalten. Da Power BI auch als App verfügbar ist, haben Mitarbeiter im Außendienst oder das Management die aktuellen Reports nun auch unterwegs auf ihren Smartphones oder Tablets verfügbar.

Die Kommunikation zur Veränderung

Neben der aktiven Begleitung bei der Aufbereitung und Neugestaltung der Reports haben wir gemeinsam mit dem Projektteam eine Kommunikationsstrategie zur Einführung dieser entwickelt. Die Strategie folgte dem Ziel, die Nutzer der Reports frühzeitig in den Veränderungsprozess einzubeziehen, um Feedback zu erhalten und sie auf die neue Arbeitsweise vorzubereiten. Das spielerische und informative Kennenlernen von Power BI wurde dabei durch ein Gewinnspiel, Live-Trainings sowie regelmäßige Beiträge zu Funktionen innerhalb des Unternehmensnetzwerkes Yammer ermöglicht.